Popular music

Well, where do I start with this little beauty.  Let’s give you a little background about my musical tastes. Truth be known, I am a rocker at heart been  but that being said I like all aspects of music, from Jazz, blues, rock, rap, R+B, thrash, screamo to classical, so my taste is very varied depending on mood.

I have just looked at the UK top 10 today 08/03/2017 and apart from Ed Sheeran, I cannot see any true raw talent. And this upsets me deeply, as a parent I feel that it is part of my duty to educate my kids in a variety of music and let them make their own mind up opposed to them becoming just another product of society.

One thing that gets my goat is the fact that people use the term band or artist for groups and singers. Let me explain my thought process. A band is a group of people playing instruments with a lead vocalist as an option, NOT a group of 4 or 5 teenagers who get paid to sing pre written songs, that just sucks ass!! But these people, with the help of the media and co-operations these “things” are modelling how society and our children look, act and behave.

A few days ago I was browsing through a few concerts and saw Rihanna featuring Eminem pop up so I gave it a watch. I think Eminem is classed as a true artist and arguably an icon. So he wouldn’t pit himself with somebody that wasn’t worthy, surely????? To my surprise I thought Rihanna was at best mediocre, her voice was average and lacked stage presence  with no crowd control. This is just one example of a typical household name that doesn’t ring true. I’m pretty sure that if you ask 1000 12 – 25 year olds they would of heard of her. Now ask the same group of people if they have heard of the likes of Aretha Franklin, Bob Marley, (Arguably) Michael Jackson, I could go on….. How many do you think would know who we were talking about?

The above is focused around singing artists, now lets bring computerised music. I must admit that I am a fan of House music, specifically Deep House and progressive house. If you don’t know what I mean by that, please check it out. I find that Deep house is nice to relax to at around 120-125 bpm and progressive house runs at 126 – 128 bpm and focuses a lot more around the melody so I can listen to that and enjoy it. What I don’t get is the computerised crap (Taken from a Bryan Adams song Kids wanna rock ” This computerised crap ain’t getting me off”) that sounds like a bag of gravel has been placed into a washing machine. WTF is that all about, its the same 4 bar loop that is just repeated over and over again with a stuttering person throwing in random words. How can this be classed as music?

What is it that attracts people to this kind of thing? Is it because its classed as cool, or is it just the sheeple mentality, I’m really interested to know.

Is this always been the case? I don’t know as I have only been on the earth 32 years. Are we living and experiencing the death of music as we know it? What can we do to change this? Or is it to far gone?

How can we protect our children from falling victim to this? The reason I think this is important is that I believe that each child is born with an artistic streak and I think that expression of art in any form is a great outlet of many things. So I think people should be aware of what is art and what is marketed as art, wouldn’t you agree?

 

Leave a Reply

